The deepest place, and (finally!) land in sight

Eine Ohrenrobbe vergnügt sich im warmen Wasser der SONNE.
A fur seal enjoys the warm water near the Sonne.

Yesterday we passed through the Aleutian Islands. The Aleutian Islands are a chain of volcanic islands dividing the Bering Sea from the Pacific Ocean. We were lucky: the visibility was good, and it was still light outside, so that we could see one of the islands relatively clearly, and two others could be seen (using binoculars) on the horizon. South of the islands is the Aleutian trench, where the Pacific Ocean is nearly 8000 meters deep.

The Bering Sea is a marginal sea of the Pacific Ocean, just as the North Sea is a marginal sea of the Atlantic Ocean. But the Bering Sea covers four times as much area as the North Sea and is also much deeper. For our last two stations, we will deploy our instruments once more to depths of 3500 meters, in order to collect sediments and water.

Yesterday we passed over the deepest part of the ocean on our transect: the Aleutian trench. The deepest depth that I saw on the depth meter was 7231 meters! At such a depth, we would not have been able to send our instruments all the way to the bottom. Some of the sensors on the CTD, for example, cannot withstand the pressure at such depths.

Shortly after we passed over this deep trench, we could see the outline of an island at the edge of the horizon – exactly twenty days since we last saw land! That was a very special moment. It is also interesting how much otherwise ‘normal’ observations have become notable after so much time at sea: seeing other ships passing by, individual birds, floating seaweed, low clouds on the horizon; all captured in photos… Yesterday morning we had a very special highlight: a fur seal found a place where warm water is piped out of the Sonne’s interior, and spent a long time swimming and diving near the stern while we were at our last station. Everyone on board had a chance to watch this graceful animal swim!

Die tiefste Stelle und endlich wieder Land in Sicht

Eine Ohrenrobbe vergnügt sich im warmen Wasser der SONNE.
Eine Ohrenrobbe vergnügt sich im warmen Wasser der SONNE.

Gestern Abend sind wir durch die Inselkette der Aleuten gefahren. Der Aleutenbogen besteht aus einer Kette von Vulkaninseln und trennt die Beringsee vom Pazifik. Und wir hatten Glück: Die Sicht war gut und es war noch hell, so dass wir zumindest eine der Inseln recht gut sehen konnten und zwei weitere am Horizont erahnen – aber nur mit Fernglas. Südlich der Inseln liegt der Aleutengraben, dort ist der Pazifik fast 8000 m tief!

Die Beringsee ist ein Randmeer des Pazifischen Ozeans, so wie die Nordsee ein Randmeer des Atlantischen Ozeans ist. Allerdings ist die Beringsee vier mal so groß wie die Nordsee und auch deutlich tiefer. An unseren letzten beiden Stationen werden wir unsere Geräte noch einmal bis auf 3500 Meter in die Tiefe schicken, um Sediment und Wasser an Deck zu holen.

Gestern haben wir die tiefste Stelle unserer Reise passiert: den Aleutengraben. Die größte Tiefe, die ich dabei auf der Tiefenanzeige gelesen habe, war 7231 Meter! An der Stelle hätten wir unsere Geräte nicht ohne zusätzliche Vorkehrungen zum Meeresboden absenken können. Einige der empfindlichen Messgeräte an der CTD zum Beispiel hätten den hohen Druck in dieser Tiefe nicht überlebt.

Kurz nachdem wir die tiefste Stelle passiert hatten, haben wir am Horizont die Umrisse einer Insel entdeckt. Exakt zwanzig Tage nachdem wir zuletzt Land gesehen haben! Das war natürlich ein spannendes Erlebnis. Überhaupt ist es interessant zu beobachten, welch eigentlich unspektakulären Ereignisse hier an Bord zur Attraktion geworden sind: Vorbeifahrende Schiffe, vereinzelte Vögel, vorbeitreibender Seetang, Kondensstreifen am Himmel – alles wird sofort in Fotos festgehalten … Gestern Vormittag gab es dann noch ein ganz besonderes Highlight: Eine Ohrenrobbe hatte es sich im warmen Wasser rund um SONNE bequem gemacht. Als sie endlich ausgeschlafen hatte, hat sie uns noch für Stunden mit ihren Schwimm- und Tauchkünsten erfreut.