Finally at sea!

Das Forschungsschiff SONNE verlässt Auckland in Neuseeland mit Ziel Dutch Harbor in Alaska.
The research vessel Sonne is leaving Auckland in New Zealand with destination Dutch Harbor in Alaska.

After months of intensive preparation and anticipation of our cruise aboard the Sonne, we are finally at sea. Yesterday morning at 9 a.m. we left Auckland harbor. We have now travelled almost 600 km; the ocean floor is 3950 m below us.

Almost all of the labs are now fully set up. The three containers with our gear arrived in Auckland several days ahead of us. The first day on board was the big unpacking day: all of the labs were filled with boxes, canisters, and containers of all sizes and shapes. Some were very light, others were so heavy that they had to be moved into place using a crane.

Fortunately, we could use the loading day in Auckland to distribute everything into the labs, unpack, and secure our equipment before departure.

Auckland was beautifully sunny as we left, and all of the scientists were on deck. We took lots of photos of the ever-smaller skyline as it receded in the distance. The weather then became windier: in Auckland Harbor the sea was still, and we could hardly tell when the ship left the dock. That changed once we left the harbor. The ocean is still quite calm, but the wave swells are noticeable – particularly in the ship’s mess deck (the

cafeteria): if you fill your soup bowl too full, it soon slops over the rim!

Endlich auf See!

Das Forschungsschiff SONNE verlässt Auckland in Neuseeland mit Ziel Dutch Harbor in Alaska.
Das Forschungsschiff SONNE verlässt Auckland in Neuseeland mit Ziel Dutch Harbor in Alaska.

Nach Monaten intensiver Vorbereitungen und voller Vorfreude auf SONNE, sind wir nun endlich auf See. Gestern Morgen, pünktlich um 9 Uhr haben wir den Hafen von Auckland verlassen. Mitlerweile haben wir fast 600 km zurückgelegt und jetzt gerade 3950 m Wasser unter uns!

Inzwischen sind fast alle Labore fertig eingerichtet. Die drei Container mit unserer Ausrüstung waren schon Tage vor uns in Auckland angekommen. Der erste Tag an Bord war der Tag des großen Auspackens. Alle Labore waren übersäht mit Kisten, Boxen und Kanistern – in allen Größen und Formen. Manche leicht zu tragen und andere so schwer, dass sie mit Kränen an ihren Platz bewegt werden mussten. Zum Glück konnten wir den Liegetag im Hafen von Auckland nutzen, um die Kisten auf die Labore zu verteilen, auszupacken und danach wieder gut zu verstauen.

Wir haben Auckland bei sonnigem Wetter verlassen. Alle WissenschaftlerInnen waren an Deck. Es wurden unzählige Fotos gemacht von der immer kleiner werdenden Skyline von Auckland. Die Frisuren auf den Fotos beweisen, dass es an Deck auch recht stürmisch war … In der Bucht vor Auckland war die See noch sehr ruhig, wir haben kaum gemerkt, dass wir nicht mehr im Hafen liegen. Das hat sich schnell geändert! Das Meer ist immer noch traumhaft ruhig, aber hier auf dem offenen Ozean merkt man doch deutlich die Dünung. Wer den Suppenteller zu voll macht, riskiert, dass die Suppe vom Teller schwappt!