Fascinating seafloor

Ahoy, dear SONNE friends!

Another day, another blog entry!
The following report was written by Marion Pohlner and Julius Degenhardt. The two scientists of the ICBM Oldenburg are from the research group Paleomicrobiology led by Prof. Dr. Heribert Cypionka.

Marion and Julius are using the MUC (multicorer) to take sediment samples from the seafloor

Hi!

We are Julius Degenhardt and Marion Pohlner and today, we provide some insight into our research aboard R/V SONNE. We are scientists based at the ICBM Oldenburg and our work focuses on the seafloor.

In order to investigate the seafloor in more detail, we recovered samples from 5000 m water depth during this cruise. This was achieved this with a piece of kit called multicorer (MUC). On station, our MUC disappears for up to four hours in the deep blue sea. Once it reaches the seafloor, the coring tubes penetrate about 30 cm into the sediment. Two lids close the core tubes so that the sediment is well-trapped for the journey to the surface. In theory, this is very simple. Sometimes it is however challenging to recover sediments with the MUC depending on the properties of the seafloor which change from station to station. If the seafloor is too hard it can happen that the MUC comes back on deck with empty tubes…or huge ferromanganese nodules!

Once on deck, the sediments are recovered from the tubes and subsampled with sterile syringes from different depths. The samples are analyzed either directly on board or packed for shipping and analysis in our home lab at the ICBM. For instance, we identify the composition of the microbial community and the amount of bacteria within the sediment. Our bacteria cells are as small as 1-2 micrometers. Thanks to a particularly specific dye we are able to count such small bacteria cells. At the seafloor, we counted about 300 million cells per cubic centimeter. Twenty centimeters below the surface this number reduced to only three million.

Moreover, we analyze the enzymatic activity of bacteria. Enzymes breakup nutrients hosted by the sediment so that they become available for consumption by bacteria. As the temperature at the seafloor is around 4°C our analyses are carried out in the cold room.

But it’s not just the MUC recovering seafloor sediments. At some stations we also receive sample material from the ROV. Such sediments are mostly used to isolate yet unknown seafloor bacteria. Once the bacteria are isolated (i.e., only one species) we are able to investigate the nutrient consumption and the role of the bacterium at the seafloor in our home lab.

(Translation by Torben Struve)

Faszination Meeresboden

Ahoi, liebe Freunde der SONNE!

Ein weiterer Tag, ein weiterer Blog-Eintrag!
Der nun folgende Bericht wurde von Marion Pohlner und Julius Degenhardt verfasst, zwei Meereswissenschaftler von der Forschungsgruppe Paläomikrobiologie unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Heribert Cypionka des ICBM Oldenburg.

Marion und Julius beim Herablassen des MUC (Multicorer)

Hallo!

Wir sind Julius Degenhardt und Marion Pohlner und heute berichten wir euch von unserer Forschung auf der SONNE. Wir gehören zu den Wissenschaftlern des ICBM Oldenburg und interessieren und vor allem für den Meeresboden.

Um den Meeresboden genauer untersuchen zu können, haben wir auf dieser Fahrt schon Proben aus 5000 m Tiefe an Bord geholt. Dafür nutzen wir einen sogenannten Multicorer (kurz: MUC). Auf Station verschwindet unser MUC bis zu 4 Stunden im tiefen Blau. Am Meeresboden angekommen, dringen die Röhren am MUC circa 30 cm tief ins Sediment ein. Durch einen Klappmechanismus werden die Röhren geschlossen und die wertvollen Sedimentproben dann an die Oberfläche gebracht. Theoretisch ganz einfach, aber trotzdem ist es manchmal ganz schön schwierig, da die Beschaffenheit des Meeresbodens jedes Mal anders ist. Ist der Meeresboden zu hart, kann es auch passieren, dass der MUC mit leeren Röhren an Bord kommt…

An Bord werden die Sedimente aus den Röhren gedrückt und mit sterilen Spritzen Unterproben aus verschiedenen Tiefen genommen. Die Proben werden entweder direkt an Bord analysiert oder gut verpackt, um sie anschließend im ICBM zu untersuchen. Beispielsweise bestimmen wir die Zusammensetzung der mikrobiellen Gemeinschaft und die Anzahl der Bakterien im Meeresboden. Die Bakterienzellen mit einer Größe von 1-2 Mikrometern können wir nur dank einer speziellen Färbetechnik unter dem Mikroskop zählen. Am Meeresboden haben wir durchschnittlich ca. 300 Millionen Zellen pro Kubikzentimeter gezählt. Zwanzig Zentimeter tiefer sind es nur noch etwa 3 Millionen.

Außerdem messen wir noch die enzymatische Aktivität der Bakterien. Enzyme zerkleinern die im Sediment vorhandenen Nährstoffe, die anschließend von den Bakterien aufgenommen werden. Da die Temperatur am Meeresboden ungefähr 4°C ist, machen wir diese Messungen im Kühlraum.

Aber nicht nur der MUC bringt uns den Meeresboden an Bord. An manchen Stationen bekommen wir auch Sedimente vom ROV. Diese nutzen wir vor allem um neue, unbekannte Bakterien vom Meeresboden zu isolieren. Haben wir die Bakterien erst einmal in Reinkultur (also nur noch eine einzelne Art eines Bakteriums) können wir zuhause im Labor genauer analysieren, was die Funktion dieses Bakteriums am Meeresboden ist und welche Nährstoffe diese nutzen.