On zooplankton and small bacteria…

Hello dear SONNE friends,

Today we are portraying Dr. Heike Freese and Franziska Klann from the Leibniz Institute DSMZ in Braunschweig. The two scientists are part of the collaborative Research Center  (SFB, Sonderforschungsbereich) “Roseobacter” and together they are the team “population genomics” on board.

Their interest focuses on a specific family of bacteria, the rhodobacteraceae. More specifically, the Roseobacter group! This group of marine bacteria is abundant and often dominant in almost all marine ecosystems and plays an important role in the Earth’s biogeochemical cycles. The work of Heike and Franziska revolves around the evolutionary radiation among different species within various genera of the Rroseobacter group. They want to learn how different species may evolve within this group of marine bacteria and why they are so successful adapting to their ecological niches.

In order to collect the small and, as colonies, slightly reddish bacteria, adequate sampling strategy and techniques are crucial.

What does that mean?

This means that Heike and Franziska collect zooplankton with a very fine-meshed net in the upper 150 m of the water column, because the bacteria thrive within and on the zooplankton. As soon as the net is filled with zooplankton, the associated bacteria are isolated in the lab at 15 °C (…Brrr!). In the home lab, they will carry out further work, keyword: genome differentiation.

Besides the net, the two biologists use an in-situ pump. During three hours of operation this pump filters about 250 to 300 liters of seawater in 20 m water depth to collect free-living bacteria on a filter. Meanwhile Heike and Franziska keep their fingers crossed that their pump performs well and resists the water pressure. After a successful operation, the micro-organisms on the filter are deep frozen and kept until further genomic analysis in the lab at home.

Their work keeps them really busy here and we hope you could get an idea of what Heike and Franziska are doing during SO254.

Stay tuned – more to follow soon!

And in the end: Where is the SONNE?

With this in mind,

The science party of SO254

(Translation by Torben Struve)

Von Zooplankton und kleinen Bakterien

Hallo, liebe Freunde der SONNE!

Im heutigen Blog-Beitrag geht es um Dr. Heike Freese und Franziska Klann vom Leibniz Institut DSMZ in Braunschweig. Die beiden Forscherinnen sind Teil des SFB (Sonderforschungsbereich) Roseobacter und bilden hier an Bord das Team „Population Genomics“.

Ihr Interesse gilt einer besonderen Familie der Bakterien, den Rhodobacteraceae. Noch spezifischer, der Gruppe Roseobacter! Diese oftmals dominante Gruppe mariner Bakterien kommt in nahezu allen marinen Ökosystemen vor und spielt eine wichtige Rolle in den Stoffkreisläufen der Erde. Heike und Franziska geht es hierbei vor allem um die Frage, wie verschiedene Arten innerhalb einer Gattung der Roseobacter Gruppe evolvieren. Sie möchten herausfinden, wie es zur Bildung verschiedener Arten innerhalb dieser Gruppe mariner Bakterien kommt und warum sich diese so erfolgreich an eine Nische anpassen können.

Um an die kleinen Bakterien zu kommen, bedarf es jedoch zuerst geeigneter Beprobungstechniken.

Moment, das heißt jetzt was?

Das heißt, dass Heike und Franziska mit Hilfe eines sehr feinen Netzes, welches in ca. 150 Metern Wassertiefe durch die Wassersäule nach oben gezogen wird, Zooplankton sammeln lassen, da die Bakterien u.a. in und auf diesem leben. Nachdem das Netz genug aufgefangen hat, werden die assoziierten Bakterien dann im Labor (bei „frischen“ 15 °C…Brrr!) vom Zooplankton isoliert. Im heimischen Labor werden dann weitere Untersuchungen durchgeführt, Stichwort: Genomunterschiede.

Neben dem Netz machen die zwei Biologinnen noch Gebrauch von einer in-situ Pumpe. Diese filtriert in ca. 20 Metern Wassertiefe drei Stunden lang insgesamt zwischen 250-300 Liter Meerwasser, um die Bakterien, die im Freiwasser vorkommen, auf einem Filter aufzufangen. Später werden die Mikroorganismen vom Filter dann weiter analysiert (nachdem man vorher mit einigen Bauchschmerzen gehofft hat, dass die Pumpe nach dem Einholen auch noch druckdicht ist!).

Wir sagen nur – fleißig, fleißig! – und hoffen, Ihr konntet einen Einblick in die Arbeit von Heike und Franziska bekommen.

Seid weiterhin gespannt, es werden weitere Beiträge folgen!

Und zum Schluss: WO ist die SONNE?

In diesem Sinne,
Euer Wissenschafts-Team von SO254